Show Synopsis

Emmy and Bafta-winning writer Andrew Davies brings Jane Austen’s unfinished last novel vividly to life. Sanditon’s a place that’s changing fast.

This once sleepy fishing village is transforming into a fashionable spa resort. Changing alongside it is the impulsive and unconventional Charlotte Heywood, who swaps her quiet rural home for the intrigues and dalliances of a seaside town on the make.

The plot twists and turns as it exposes the hidden agendas of characters whose fortunes depend on Sanditon’s commercial success. People such as the visionary entrepreneur Tom Parker, mixed-race heiress Miss Lambe, and charismatic but complicated Sidney Parker. Follow Charlotte’s journey to discover herself – and find love on her own terms.



Featured Videos

Next On

Episode 4, Series 1

Monday January 27 at 8:35pm


Episode 4 | Series 1

The arrival of Miss Lambe's forbidden love causes Charlotte to question her opinion of Sidney. Meanwhile, Clara witnesses a moment between Esther and Sir Edward.

Episode 5, Series 1

Monday February 3 at 8:35pm


Episode 5 | Series 1

Tensions between Tom and his labourers erupt during the Sanditon cricket match. Charlotte and Sidney continue to clash, resulting in Miss Lambe being placed in terrible danger.

Episode 6, Series 1

Monday February 10 at 8:35pm


Episode 6 | Series 1

Charlotte and Sidney are at loggerheads but must work together to try and rescue Miss Lambe. Meanwhile, Tom tries to save Sanditon and his marriage.

Episode 7, Series 1

Monday February 17 at 8:35pm


Episode 7 | Series 1

As the Sanditon summer regatta approaches, Sidney wrestles with his feelings towards an old flame and Young Stringer reveals his feelings to Charlotte.

Newsletter Sign Up